Morning workouts can be tough, especially after staying up until 1 am to finish that sociology assignment. It’s easy to hit snooze on the alarm a couple times or decide you’ll save your workout for the next day. However, sticking to a gym routine is important (with days of rest, of course), so here are some tips I follow that help prepare me for a morning workout:

1. I set my clothes out the night before and put them right beside my bed, so they’re within reaching distance.

We’ve all heard this one before, but it really is true. In the morning you usually don’t feel like rummaging through your drawer to find matching socks or the perfect yoga pants. If you pick your clothes out the night before, it’s easy to just slip them on, saving time in your morning routine. Plus, if they’re laying right beside your bed, it’s a little harder to ignore them.

2. I fill up my water bottle the night before and stick it in the fridge.

This saves time and also rewards me with cold, refreshing water instead of that lukewarm stuff.

3. I either use a Keurig to brew a cup of coffee quickly, or stick some caffeinated tea in the fridge the night before.

Drinking black coffee or caffeinated tea can give you a boost for your morning workout, and it usually kicks in about 15 minutes after you drink it. I usually chug mine down pretty soon after I wake up so the caffeine gets me pumped for the treadmill or elliptical.

4. I play energetic music while I’m getting ready.

I turn on my pop fitness or Walk the Moon Pandora station soon after I wake up, getting me in the mood to kick butt at the gym.

5. I don’t look at my phone.

I may be dying to see my friend’s Snapchat from last night or want to check my school email, but I know that will lead to scrolling on Instagram or looking at BuzzFeed articles, so I don’t let myself look at anything besides Pandora or my stopwatch app.

No matter your usual routine before a morning workout, the most important thing is that you get up and make an effort to exercise to some extent. Even a short, low-intensity workout is better than sleeping in, and your mind and body will thank you for it later.

