If I crave a Reece’s peanut butter cup but don’t want a sugary, processed snack, I usually make my Funky Monkey smoothie. It’s also a delicious dessert if you want ice cream but don’t have any in the house (which happens to me quite often).

Ingredients:

1 ½ frozen bananas sliced up

1 tablespoon cocoa powder

¾ cup almond milk (or soy milk, or regular cow milk)

1 tablespoon peanut butter

Optional: 1 tablespoon honey

Put the bananas in the blender, then the almond milk. Add the cocoa powder and stir it in with the almond milk if needed. Add the peanut butter (and honey, if you want) and then puree your smoothie to the desired texture.

My younger cousins love this recipe because it’s chocolatey and sweet (but not artificially). Plus, the peanut butter provides protein. You can substitute chocolate milk for the almond milk and cocoa powder if those ingredients work better for you.

Enjoy!

 

 

