We all have those days — get up early to finish a paper, spill coffee on your white jeans, and walk through campus in the rain, only to find out your class is cancelled. It’s days like these when you feel like the world is out to get you. However, these kind of days are the perfect time for a little pick-me-up.

As a college student on the go, I don’t usually have much down time for activities I enjoy. But when I have a rough day or I find myself especially stressed out, I like to take time to craft or build something with my hands. Making origami, drawing, and painting toenails are just the beginning.

I love cutting up old t-shirts and making something new out of them. Whether I wear the shirt to the gym or just to bed, it’s a refreshing change and gives me time to let my mind wander as I shred and color until it’s unrecognizable. Here are some examples of “t-shirt rejuvenation,” as I like to call it:

Screen Shot 2017-02-22 at 4.28.20 PM.png
Click here for instructions.
screen-shot-2017-02-22-at-4-30-15-pm
Click here for instructions.

If you’re looking to really pamper yourself during a difficult day, treat yourself to getting your nails done (yes, professionally, not by your roommate), ordering that little something you’ve had in your Etsy cart for weeks, or getting a gourmet cupcake.

Not everything has to involve spending money, either. You can watch a movie you haven’t seen in years, plan something special for the future, or mix up a fancy drink you found on Pinterest.

Whatever you decide to do, make sure to treat yourself every so often because let’s face it: we can’t dominate the world 24/7.

